Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (2022)

Our Verdict

2.62.6/10

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

Betternet's Free VPN isn't safe or reliable. Its speeds are throttled, it has a weak privacy policy, and it lacks basic security features. Customer support is non-existent and the VPN doesn't work with popular streaming services. Overall, Betternet isn’t a private or functional VPN and we don't recommend using it.

Ranked #59 out of 71 VPNs

Betternet VPN Category Ratings

  • 0.20.2/10

  • 00.0/10

  • 3.93.9/10

  • 0.90.9/10

  • 11.0/10

  • 44.0/10

  • 2.82.8/10

  • 55.0/10

  • 1.31.3/10

Betternet VPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  • No need to register before using
  • Custom VPN apps super easy to use

Cons

  • Lacks basic security features like VPN kill switch
  • Only one VPN server location (US)
  • Unreliable speeds
  • Unreliable for streaming
  • DNS, WebRTC leaks & previous malware issues
  • No customer support for free users

It may have a large user base, but Betternet isn’t a safe, reliable, or private VPN.

For this Betternet VPN review, we tested every key aspect of the VPN service to answer key questions like:

  • Is Betternet free VPN safe?
  • How fast is it?
  • Can you watch Netflix with Betternet?
  • Who’s behind Betternet VPN?
  • Does Betternet Free permit torrenting?

The results were underwhelming. Betternet VPN underperformed in many categories, to our disappointment.

The VPN logs too much web data, it throttles internet speeds, and it’s useless for streaming and torrenting. It also caps data usage at 500MB each day.

See our list of fast and safe free VPNs

Instead of getting a risky VPN like Betternet, try using Private Internet Access. It’s a fast, safe and cheap VPN that unblocks content platforms around the world, including US Netflix.

Try PIA VPN risk-free for 30 days.

Keep reading this review to find out in more detail why we don’t recommend you use Betternet VPN.

Betternet VPN Key Data

Data Cap500MB
Speed7Mbps
Logging PolicySome User Logs
Data LeaksYes
JurisdictionUS (Five-Eyes Member)
ServersNot Disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries1
US NetflixNo
TorrentingUnlimited
Simultaneous ConnectionsUnlimited
Works In ChinaNo
SupportOnline Resources Only
Official WebsiteBetternet.co

Betternet logs too much data

Logging & Jurisdiction

3.93.9/10

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

Betternet logs a huge amount of information including your true IP address, your location, connection timestamps and device information. It even logs (anonymized) usage information. This goes well beyond what is resonable and puts your privacy in jeopardy.

Betternet logs quite a lot of information about its users:

  • Originating IP address – encrypted and monitored only for the duration of the VPN session, then deleted.
  • Your approximate geographical location and ISP – derived from your IP address and shared with third-party advertisers.
  • VPN connection timestamps – to monitor, support and optimize VPN services, and stored for three years.
  • Bandwidth consumed per user, per session – to monitor, support, and optimize VPN services, and stored for three years.
  • Device-specific information – device ID, OS version, and hardware model. These are not linked to VPN browsing activity but allow Betternet to distinguish between different users as registration is not necessary.
  • Non-personal logs of domain names (not full URLs) that users visit – but not in combination with anything that identifies an individual. These are aggregated on a monthly basis.

Aura, the company behind Betternet, claims that despite the logs it can’t link any browsing activity to individual VPN users.

Aura’s logging policy also states that while the free products are supported by ads, they are not personalized based on the user’s VPN browsing activity.

The privacy policy concludes by saying:

“Even if a government agency physically seizes one of our VPN servers and succeeds in breaking disk encryption on those servers, they would not find any logs or information that would reveal what any individual user was browsing, viewing, or doing online via a VPN connection.”

Betternet’s logging policy is not the worst we’ve seen from a free VPN service, but there are far more private free VPNs options available.

Ownership and jurisdiction

Betternet is operated by Betternet LLC Inc., a part of the Aura group, which also owns a host of other VPN services, including:

  • Hexatech
  • Hotspot Shield
  • TouchVPN
  • VPN In Touch
  • VPN 360

Betternet LLC Inc. is incorporated in California, USA, which is part of the Five-Eyes international intelligence-sharing alliance. It’s also subject to intrusive surveillance laws.

All of Aura’s VPN products share the same privacy and logging policy, but the group hasn’t had the smoothest run during the past few years.

For example, Hotspot Shield was embroiled in various past controversies. One of them involved the VPN injecting advertising cookies in users’ web browsers. You can read more about this in our Hotspot Shield review.

While the allegations didn’t mention Betternet, it’s worth remembering Betternet uses the same privacy policy, proprietary VPN protocol technology, and infrastructure as Hotspot Shield.

These issues have since been resolved and the Aura privacy policy rewritten, but it certainly damaged trust in the company at the time.

One saving grace is that Betternet Free doesn’t require you to make an account before using it. This means you don’t have to hand them personal information like a phone number or email address.

Betternet Controversy

Betternet hasn’t escaped all controversy though.

A 2016 academic report on VPNs revealed that Betternet’s Android app was riddled with malware and embedded tracking libraries. Betternet never publicly addressed this.

Betternet lacks advanced security features

Security & Features

(Video) Betternet VPN HONEST review | Can you trust Betternet FREE & premium??

2.82.8/10

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

While they use industry standard AES-256 encryption, Betternet's apps lack a kill switch or other vital security features. They also sometimes leaks DNS information.

Protocols
  1. Proprietary
Encryption
  1. AES-128
  2. AES-256
Security
  1. None
Advanced Features
  1. None

Betternet uses industry-standard AES-128 and AES-256 ciphers to encrypt traffic, but that’s where the positives end. Its privacy policy is questionable and there aren’t any security extras included – not even a kill switch to protect your identity in case of a sudden connection drop. In short, Betternet is not a safe or trustworthy VPN.

Our tests detected no IP, DNS, or WebRTC leaks when the “Prevent IP Leaks” setting was toggled on, but switching it off caused Betternet to expose DNS requests to our ISP.

Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (1)

Betternet’s leak test results when “Prevent IP Leaks” is switched on. There are no leaks.

The ‘Prevent IP leaks’ feature is switched on by default, but considering the main point of a VPN is to protect your privacy and prevent personal data from being exposed – we don’t see why this option is present at all.

Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (2)

The Chrome extension is even worse: we found it suffered from both WebRTC and DNS leaks, regardless of how you configure the settings.

In terms of advanced features, there is a domain whitelister you can use to route select websites outside of the VPN tunnel, but this doesn’t make up for the lack of basic security tools.

Security researchers also found malware and tracking libraries embedded in the Android app.

Betternet uses the same proprietary connection protocol as the other VPN services in the Aura group: Hydra. Unfortunately, there’s no technical information about the protocol available.

However, the website’s FAQs go some way to reassure us that Catapult Hydra doesn’t affect security:

“It is important to note that our proprietary protocol is focused only on the performance of the VPN data transport, while using standard encryption with perfect forward secrecy.”

Overall, Betternet is not a particularly safe or secure VPN service. It uses standard encryption but fails to provide essential security features such as a VPN kill switch or effective leak protection.

Betternet throttles download speeds

Speed & Reliability

0.90.9/10

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

In our tests we've found that Betternet Free throttles speeds to 5Mbps on all connections. This is super slow and will prevent you streaming, torrenting or even browsing comfortably.

At first we were led to believe that Betternet was one of the fastest free VPNs around, but we were wrong.

During our initial speed tests, the VPN reached download speeds of almost 80Mbps – just a 20% drop from our normal internet speed.

That’s really fast considering the distance from us (in the UK) to the VPN server (in the US).

But after an hour or so of testing, the speeds dropped dramatically.

During our second round of speed tests Betternet failed to even reach 10Mbps down. That’s not good at all.

  • Download Speed: 97.59Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 90.87Mbps
  • Ping: 3ms
  • Download Speed: 5Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 5Mbps
  • Ping: 153ms

Download speed loss when Betternet VPN is running: 95%

This leads us to believe that the VPN throttles (intentionally slows down) free users’ speeds.

In fact there’s a button on the app that says ‘Connect faster’, which brings up the premium subscription options.

Uploads and ping times were equally as bad the second time we tested, so this is neither a good VPN choice for streaming fans, torrenters, nor gamers.

Luckily, there are some free VPNs that deliver good speeds, such as the ones you can see in our Hide.me review.

But if you want the best speeds, you’ll have to use a paid VPN service. See our list of the fastest VPNs here.

No Netflix or iPlayer and slow, throttled speeds

Streaming

0.20.2/10

(Video) Worst VPN 2022 | 6 worst VPN providers you should avoid!

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

Betternet Free doesn't work with any premium streaming services. In our tests it wasn't able to access Netflix, BBC iPlayer or other services like Disney+. It can only stream some geoblocked content on YouTube and Vimeo.

In addition to Betternet’s unreliable speeds, the free app doesn’t reliably work with popular streaming services.

Only the best VPNs for streaming can bypass the aggressive VPN blocks put in place by the biggest content platforms.

We have been able to watch US Netflix on occasion, but it’s almost always blocked, bringing up thefamiliar proxy error message:

Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (3)

Netflix and other streaming sites actively block VPN traffic and most free VPNs don’t put resources into getting around the blocks.

There are no free UK servers so it’s impossible to watch BBC iPlayer, which requires a British IP address.

P2P is blocked on all servers

Torrenting

00.0/10

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

While Betternet claims to allow torrenting, we found P2P torrenting is blocked during our tests. The service also lacks the minimal logging policy and kill switch required for torrenting.

Betternet’s FAQs state that it currently supports torrenting on Windows, Mac, Android, and iOS devices. Our tests have always found P2P traffic to be blocked, though.

Simply put, Betternet is not a good free VPN for anonymous torrenting. Even if it allowed P2P traffic, Betternet is not an ideal VPN for P2P users.

Firstly, the unreliable speeds quickly become a hassle, particularly if you’re located far away from the free US VPN servers.

Secondly, Betternet’s logging policy and the lack of a VPN kill switch is a problem for safe torrenting.

Only one server option available: US

Server Locations

11.0/10

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Betternet's free service only offers free users the ability to connect to a server in the US, despite promising ten servers on its website. There is no city level selection, either.

Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (4)Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (5)

1Country

Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (6)Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (7)

1City

Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (8)Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (9)

Not DisclosedIP Address

Betternet’s free VPN limits users to just one country: the US.

The app is rather misleading about this, too. The Betternet website mentions 10 server countries, including the UK, Germany and Hong Kong. But, if you try connecting to these countries from the app, you’ll be asked to upgrade to a premium plan.

That may be fine if it’s only US content you need access to but, if not, you’ll need to try another VPN with more options.

Just be aware that Betternet doesn’t allow you to choose a particular state or city within the US.

If you upgrade to Betternet’s premium subscription you can access 72 countries and 26 US cities.

It costs $11.99 per month, or $2.99 a month if you subscribe to a yearly plan, and you can use the service on up to five devices at once.

No obfuscation technology and blocked in China

Bypassing Censorship

(Video) How To Use Betternet VPN - Get Betternet Hotspot VPN, Betternet VPN is a free and unlimited VPN🤫

44.0/10

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Betternet is blocked in China, and cannot beat the country's censorship. It could work in other censored regions, though.

If you need a VPN for bypassing censorship in China, Betternet definitely shouldn’t be your first choice (or even your 20th).

As a free user you can only connect to VPN servers in the US, which would bring your speeds down to halt.

Betternet doesn’t come with any additional obfuscation tools to overcome aggressive Chinese Firewall blocks, either, so you likely won’t even be able to connect. When we tried to connect from our Shanghai server, we found we couldn’t use Betternet to beat China’s censors.

Most free VPNs aren’t suited to working in China, or other high-censorship countries like Iran and the UAE.

You can find out which VPNs work in China right here.

Basic desktop and mobile apps only

Device Compatibility

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

Betternet is offered on four platforms: Windows, macOS, iOS and Android. It also has a browser extension for Chrome. There isn’t a router app available, though.

Apps

  1. Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (10)
  2. Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (11)
  3. Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (12)
  4. Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (13)

Betternet comes with custom VPN apps for Windows, macOS, Android and iOS devices.

You can’t use it with Linux, routers, or any other devices like game consoles or streaming boxes (like Amazon Fire TV).

Betternet doesn’t allow for manual configuration, either, so the native VPN apps are all you get.

Browser Extensions

  1. Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (14)

Betternet does come with a browser extension for Google Chrome, but there are no add-ons available for Mozilla Firefox, Safari, or Opera.

While the Chrome extension does encrypt browser traffic, you should take note that all other apps outside your web browser will be left unprotected.

Unlike the main desktop and mobile VPN apps, the browser extension comes allows you to connect to servers in multiple countries:

  • Canada
  • Germany
  • The Netherlands
  • Russia

But don’t rush to download the Chrome extension. In fact, it suffers from two different types of security flaws: WebRTC leaks and DNS leaks.

Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (15)

We connected to a server in the Netherlands, but Betternet’s Chrome browser extension leaked both WebRTC and DNS requests.

WebRTC leaks expose your true IP address, and DNS leaks mean that your ISP (and anyone sniffing traffic between you and the DNS provider) can see all the websites that you’re visiting.

Simple apps that lack utility

Ease of Use

55.0/10

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

Betternet's apps are easy to use and install on all platforms, but they lack utility, features and customization.

How to Install & Set Up Betternet VPN

  • Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (16)

    Go onto Betternet's website and click 'Get Betternet Now' to download the software.

  • Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (17)

    Read Betternet's Terms of Service and click 'Install' to install the software.

  • Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (18)

    Click 'Finish' to complete the installation process. There's no need to log into the app.

    (Video) IS BETTERNET VPN SAFE TO USE? 🤔 What You Need to Know About This VPN Provider's Security Features 🔐

  • Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (19)

    Here's the main screen when Betternet VPN is connected. It's very simple with minimal information about your connection.

  • Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (20)

    When you click 'Select Virtual Location' you can see a list of loads of server locations. None of these are available to free users and if you click on one of them Betternet will prompt you to upgrade to the Premium plan.

  • Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (21)

    Betternet's settings menu is very limited. Be sure to keep the 'Prevent IP leak' feature enabled.

Betternet’s custom VPN apps for desktop and mobile devices are really easy to install and use.

It’s a case of downloading the relevant file from the website, clicking through a couple of installation prompts, and hitting ‘Connect’.

There aren’t really any settings to play with.

The virtual locations list is a little misleading as free users can’t use any of them. If you click on one, the app will prompt you to upgrade to the paid plan.

Within the settings menu, you can choose to ‘reconnect automatically’ or just connect on ‘unsafe WiFi hotspots’.

There’s also the ‘Prevent IP leak’ setting, which we’d recommend you leave on for obvious reasons.

Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (22)

The Betternet browser extension for Google Chrome is easy to set up.

Click through to the Chrome Web Store from Betternet’s website, and select ‘Add to Chrome.’

You’ll need to accept the permissions before you can add the extension to your browser.

Betternet’s extension is just as easy to use as the desktop app. There’s a connect button and a list of server locations to choose from – that’s pretty much it.

All that said, we don’t recommend downloading the extension as it leaks WebRTC and DNS requests, putting your personal data at risk.

Some FAQs are available but no email support

Customer Support

1.31.3/10

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

Betternet doesn’t provide any customer support for free users outside of the Help Center, which includes some basic FAQs and troubleshooting tips. These aren't all up to date, though.

Online ResourcesYes

The FAQs are fairly well organized, with sections for each supported device, but some are out of date and display incorrect information.

If you do try to email support without a premium subscription you’ll receive a short reply saying: “Sorry but we can’t respond personally.”

If you’re struggling with any issues, you’re pretty much on your own.

We don't recommend using Betternet

The Bottom Line

We do not recommend installing and using Betternet VPN. It isn’t a particularly safe or private VPN service, let alone a reliable one.

Our speeds were throttled within an hour of use, and you can only connect to one server location (the US).

Betternet’s browser extension for Google Chrome is particularly bad, suffering from not only DNS leaks, but WebRTC leaks too. It’s definitely one to avoid.

Instead of using Betternet, use one of the safe free VPN alternatives listed below.

Betternet isn’t safe to use, and it’s limited by a 500MB daily usage cap. We recommend using a fast, safe and cheap VPN like Private Internet Access.

PIA VPN is very fast, secure and it even unblocks content platforms like Netflix and Disney+. Try PIA VPN risk-free for 30 days.

Alternatives to Betternet VPN

Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (23)Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (24)

Proton VPN Free

7.67.6/10

If you’re looking for another free VPN with unlimited data, Proton VPN is a great choice. It’s safe, secure, and private. There are three locations to choose from and the speeds are pretty fast, too. Read Proton VPN Free review

Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (25)Betternet VPN Review 2022: Avoid This Unsafe Free VPN (26)

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

While Windscribe caps free user data to 10GB a month, it provides servers in 10 different countries, and allows you to drill down to city level in some of them, too. You can also use Windscribe Free to protect P2P traffic securely and safely. Read Windscribe review

(Video) Schlechtestes VPN 2022 | Diese 6 schlechtesten VPN-Anbieter solltet ihr vermeiden!

Questions & User Reviews are shown in the original language of submission.

FAQs

Is Betternet VPN trustworthy? ›

Despite millions of installs and a good (4.3) rating, Betternet has a very high malware presence according to this research. This is why you can't trust most ratings when looking for a good VPN service. The same study also identified a high presence of third-party tracking libraries in Betternet's Android app.

Does Betternet hide your IP address? ›

It also encrypts all your ingoing, and outgoing data so your ISP won't be able to see what you are doing. You can use Betternet Free VPN to hide your IP and network traffic.

What is the safest free VPN to use? ›

The best free VPN services you can download today
  • Proton VPN Free. Truly secure with unlimited data – the best free VPN. ...
  • Privado VPN. A free VPN that can unblock Netflix (for now) ...
  • Windscribe. Generous on data, and secure too. ...
  • Atlas VPN. Great speeds, and tons of data for Mac users. ...
  • Hide.me. ...
  • Hotspot Shield Basic.
13 Sept 2022

Can the police track a VPN? ›

Police can't track live, encrypted VPN traffic, but if they have a court order, they can go to your ISP (Internet Service Provider) and request connection or usage logs. Since your ISP knows you're using a VPN, they can direct the police to them.

Do you have to pay for Betternet? ›

Betternet is a free VPN service for everyone. You can use it without paying even a cent. Besides our free version, we also offer the premium version of our app to those who need to choose what servers they want to connect to The United States, Canada, Germany, The Uk, etc.

How much does Betternet cost? ›

Betternet VPN Overview
OVERALL RANK:#74 out of 78 VPNs
NETFLIX:Blocks Netflix USA
ENCRYPTION/PROTOCOL:256-bit AES encryption, 128-bit encryption; OpenVPN, IPSec
COST:Free or $35.99/yr
OFFICIAL WEBSITE:www.Betternet.co
5 more rows
2 Oct 2020

Is Betternet a free VPN? ›

Betternet is a free VPN for Windows, Mac, iOS and Android.

How do I cancel Betternet? ›

From your Android device
  1. Open the Google Play Store.
  2. Select the Betternet app.
  3. In the subscription section, tap CANCEL.
  4. Tap YES to confirm the cancellation.
8 Aug 2020

Is there any 100% free VPNs? ›

PrivadoVPN: Best free VPN for Windows and Mac users. ProtonVPN: Best free VPN with unlimited data. Hide.me: Best free VPN in terms of customer support. TunnelBear: Best free VPN if you're looking for many server locations.

What is a 100% free VPN? ›

ProtonVPN: Best Overall 100% Free VPN

Along with unrestricted data usage, ProtonVPN works with Windows, Android, iOS, Mac, Android TV, Chromebook, Linux, and certain routers. ProtonVPN's free plan offers bank-standard AES 256-bit encryption and an automatic kill switch.

Do you really need a VPN at home? ›

Without a VPN, your IP address is exposed. Your IP address and the IP addresses of all the devices connected to your home Wi-Fi can be stolen by cybercriminals to track your location, right down to the street level, if they want to. VPN changes your IP by routing your traffic via a remote server.

Can anyone track me if I use VPN? ›

Can I be tracked if I use a VPN? No, your web traffic and IP can't be tracked anymore. However, if you use a poor quality VPN, you could still be tracked.

Does VPN protect you from government? ›

A VPN encrypts and conceals your entire online traffic. It hides your IP address, location, and all digital activities, including downloads, streaming, and gaming activities. A VPN hides your browsing history from your ISP, websites, online snoopers, and even the government.

How do I hide my IP from the police? ›

  1. #1. ...
  2. Use a proxy to hide your IP address. ...
  3. Use Tor to hide your IP address for free. ...
  4. Connect to a different network to change your IP address. ...
  5. Ask your ISP to change your IP address. ...
  6. Unplug your modem to change your IP address. ...
  7. Use a NAT Firewall to hide your private IP address.
27 Jul 2022

Does Betternet have virus? ›

Betternet doesn't protect your computer from viruses or malware. We recommend getting an anti-virus/anti-malware software from one of our reputable partners in order to also help secure your computer. Our application doesn't have any type of viruses and it is not harmful to your computer in anyway.

Is Betternet VPN Unlimited? ›

Get Betternet Unlimited Free VPN Proxy to access apps and websites from your Mac using the fastest VPN Servers, while stay safe and protected because your data will be encrypted and your online activities will remain completely anonymous.

What does Betternet premium do? ›

Betternet premium service gives you the ability to connect to faster, more stable and better servers. We have provided dedicated servers for our premium users in order to deliver the highest possible quality of Betternet service. In addition, our support agents are responsible for following up any premium ticket ASAP.

How can I use Betternet for free? ›

You can always use our app for free, simply by closing out of the Payment Screen you get when you first install us. However, we hope you'll sign up for our seven-day Premium trial so that you can get even more out of Betternet, including personalized tech support reserved only for our Premium members.

Why is my Betternet not working? ›

Clear your iOS device cookies and cache files, by tapping 'Settings > Safari > Clear History and Website Data,' then reboot your device. Open your device's Settings and turn Airplane Mode ON and then OFF. Then go back to Betternet and change its status to Disconnected. In the Betternet app, tap Connect.

What is my internet address for VPN? ›

Click on “Start”, then “Settings”, “Network & internet”, “Wi-Fi”. Select the network you're connected to. Click on “Properties.” Scroll down to the bottom of the window — your IP will be shown next to “IPv4 address.”

How do I use Betternet VPN on Chrome? ›

[100% Working] Betternet VPN For PC is available in the chrome web store, just install it and connect any Proxy and use. How To use Betternet VPN For PC:- 1. Firstly Click on "Add To Chrome" button 2. After Downloading, just click on "Extension Icon".

How safe is Protonvpn? ›

We take extra precautions to ensure your VPN connection is secure and private. We only use advanced and up-to-date encryption ciphers to protect your privacy, including AES-256 and ChaCha20. Our apps only use VPN protocols that have no known vulnerabilities, such as OpenVPN, IKEv2, and WireGuard.

Which VPN is free for PC? ›

Best FREE VPN for PC & Laptop (Download Now)
#1 Best Overall#2 Top Pick
VPN ProviderExpressVPNNordVPN
Supported devicesMacOS & iOS Android Windows Linux MicrosoftMacOS & iOS Windows Linux
24/7 support✔️✔️
Max connections56
4 more rows
30 Aug 2022

How do I stop auto renewal on Betternet? ›

On Android, open the Google Play Store, then tap Menu > Subscriptions. On a computer, go to play.google.com, then in the left menu click My subscriptions. Search for the Betternet app and select it. Click Cancel subscription.

Can I get a refund from Betternet? ›

However, Betternet has a 45-day refund policy. If you missed the 48-hour Google Play request window, please contact our Help Center with your GPA order number and Google Play email address that's associated with your purchase so that we can issue a refund for you.

How do I remove Betternet from my Iphone? ›

To completely uninstall Betternet from your iOS device: Touch and hold the Betternet application icon until you see options for the application. Tap the delete app option to uninstall the application.

Which VPN has all countries for free? ›

The best free VPNs for 2022
  • Proton VPN Free. Our #1 free VPN – unlimited data allowance without paying a cent. ...
  • PrivadoVPN Free. 10GB data for free – and US Netflix unblocking, too. ...
  • Windscribe Free. Powerful and secure with a generous data cap. ...
  • Atlas VPN Free. ...
  • Hide.me Free VPN. ...
  • Hotspot Shield Basic VPN. ...
  • TunnelBear Free.
5 days ago

Can I make my own VPN? ›

In fact, you can set up a VPN server at home. All you need is a little know-how and some free time. You can create your own VPN server at home, allowing you to securely access your home network while you're away. It does require some technical knowledge to set up, though.

Is there a totally free VPN for Android? ›

Is there a completely free VPN for Android? Yes – Atlas VPN is a completely free Android VPN that you can use for as long as you like. While it limits your data to 5GB, you can connect to servers in 3 locations. Plus, there's a kill switch that works as a last security resort.

Which VPN gives free 10GB? ›

You can use Windscribe for free, for as long as you like. With a confirmed email address you get 10GB/month of data, unlimited connections and access to over 10 countries.

How can I get a free premium VPN? ›

Let's move on to the 100% Free VPN Services first.
  1. RocketVPN: This VPN app is free to use and provides high-speed access to various locations. ...
  2. SuperVPN: This VPN app is a simple app with minimum modifications or settings. ...
  3. FlashVPN Free Proxy: ...
  4. HolaVPN: ...
  5. VyprVPN: ...
  6. Hotspot Shield VPN: ...
  7. Droid VPN:

When should a VPN not be used? ›

When should you not use a VPN? One reason you may not use a VPN is when gaming or downloading, as a VPN can sometimes slow your connection speed. The other time to pause your VPN, is when you want to access content that is only available in your location.

Does VPN drain battery? ›

“When it comes to battery consumption, there is no difference in using the VPN with other apps for your battery. Its consumption is normal just like any other apps. We do just recommend to turn off the VPN if you no longer using it so that it won't run in your phone's background.”

Does the average person need a VPN? ›

VPNs can be useful, but they're not necessary for every person or every situation, especially now that so much web traffic is encrypted using HTTPS, the secure protocol whose initials you see at the start of most web addresses.

What kind of VPN is Betternet? ›

Betternet is more of a proxy than VPN service. Although their virtual private network is secured through OpenVPN VPN protocol and 256-bit AES encryption, their software not the best option for security and privacy as we've found several DNS and WebRTC leaks.

Is Betternet VPN free? ›

Betternet is a free VPN for Windows, Mac, iOS and Android.

How do I cancel Betternet? ›

From your Android device
  1. Open the Google Play Store.
  2. Select the Betternet app.
  3. In the subscription section, tap CANCEL.
  4. Tap YES to confirm the cancellation.
8 Aug 2020

What is better proxy or VPN? ›

Is VPN better than a proxy? Yes, a VPN is better as it provides privacy and security by routing your traffic through a secure VPN server and encrypting your traffic. A proxy simply passes your traffic through a mediating server but doesn't necessarily offer any extra protection.

How do I cancel my Betternet free trial? ›

On Android, open the Google Play Store, then tap Menu > Subscriptions. On a computer, go to play.google.com, then in the left menu click My subscriptions. Search for the Betternet app and select it. Click Cancel subscription.

Is Betternet VPN Unlimited? ›

Get Betternet Unlimited Free VPN Proxy to access apps and websites from your Mac using the fastest VPN Servers, while stay safe and protected because your data will be encrypted and your online activities will remain completely anonymous.

Why is my Betternet not working? ›

Clear your iOS device cookies and cache files, by tapping 'Settings > Safari > Clear History and Website Data,' then reboot your device. Open your device's Settings and turn Airplane Mode ON and then OFF. Then go back to Betternet and change its status to Disconnected. In the Betternet app, tap Connect.

What is my internet address for VPN? ›

Click on “Start”, then “Settings”, “Network & internet”, “Wi-Fi”. Select the network you're connected to. Click on “Properties.” Scroll down to the bottom of the window — your IP will be shown next to “IPv4 address.”

How do I use Betternet VPN on Chrome? ›

[100% Working] Betternet VPN For PC is available in the chrome web store, just install it and connect any Proxy and use. How To use Betternet VPN For PC:- 1. Firstly Click on "Add To Chrome" button 2. After Downloading, just click on "Extension Icon".

What does Betternet premium do? ›

Betternet premium service gives you the ability to connect to faster, more stable and better servers. We have provided dedicated servers for our premium users in order to deliver the highest possible quality of Betternet service. In addition, our support agents are responsible for following up any premium ticket ASAP.

Can I get a refund from Betternet? ›

However, Betternet has a 45-day refund policy. If you missed the 48-hour Google Play request window, please contact our Help Center with your GPA order number and Google Play email address that's associated with your purchase so that we can issue a refund for you.

How do I remove Betternet from my Iphone? ›

To completely uninstall Betternet from your iOS device: Touch and hold the Betternet application icon until you see options for the application. Tap the delete app option to uninstall the application.

How do I contact Betternet? ›

Betternet
  1. 1800 Seaport Blvd, Redwood City, California, 94063, United States.
  2. Phone Number: (408) 744-1002.
  3. www.betternet.co.
  4. <$5 Million.

What is stronger than a VPN? ›

Two of the most common choices are software-defined WAN (SD-WAN) and Secure Access Service Edge (SASE). SD-WAN is designed to be a more efficient alternative to the VPN. Instead of implementing point-to-point connectivity, SD-WAN provides optimal routing of encrypted traffic between a network of SD-WAN appliances.

Whats stronger than a VPN? ›

There are many models for accommodating remote work efficiently without compromising online security. A few alternatives to the VPN include virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI), The Onion Router (Tor), and proxy servers.

How do you know if you're using a VPN? ›

To see if you're using a proxy/VPN online, go to www.whatismyproxy.com. It will say if you're connected to a proxy or not. PC: Check under your WiFi settings, to see if there is a VPN/proxy showing up. Mac: Check your top status bar.

Videos

1. Betternet VPN | Get Free Betternet Premium Account For Life Time | Express VPN vs Betternet #bestvpn
(SAN TakNik)
2. Worst VPN in 2022 | How to identify a VPN scam and how to avoid it
(CyberNews)
3. BEST FREE VPN FOR CANADA 2022 🇨🇦🆓: The Two Best Free Canada VPN Services (+1 Premium VPN) ✅
(Comparatif VPN)
4. Avast SecureLine VPN 🔥 100% BRUTALLY HONEST REVIEW!
(Geekman)
5. BITDEFENDER VPN REVIEW 2022 👎 : A Full In-Depth Test & Review of Bitdefender VPN ✅🔥
(Comparatif VPN)
6. NORDVPN CRACK | FREE VPN | NORDVPN FREE | Nordvpn Crack 2022
(Emir Ovejero)

Top Articles

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Maia Crooks Jr

Last Updated: 11/18/2022

Views: 6205

Rating: 4.2 / 5 (63 voted)

Reviews: 86% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Maia Crooks Jr

Birthday: 1997-09-21

Address: 93119 Joseph Street, Peggyfurt, NC 11582

Phone: +2983088926881

Job: Principal Design Liaison

Hobby: Web surfing, Skiing, role-playing games, Sketching, Polo, Sewing, Genealogy

Introduction: My name is Maia Crooks Jr, I am a homely, joyous, shiny, successful, hilarious, thoughtful, joyous person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.